Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Review of the Enterprise Architecture, Software Development Approach, and Safety and Human Factor Design of the Next Generation Air Transportation System

PIN: DEPS-CSTB-12-04         

Major Unit:
Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences
Transportation Research Board

Sub Unit:
Board on Human-System Integration
Aeronautics & Space Engineering Board DEPS
Computer Science & Telecommuncations Board DEPS

Eisenberg, Jon

Subject/Focus Area:
Computers and Information Technology; Space and Aeronautics; Transportation and Infrastructure

Review of the Enterprise Architecture, Software Development Approach, and Safety and Human Factor Design of the Next Generation Air Transportation System
May 8, 2013 - May 9, 2013
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Eric Whitaker
Phone: 202-334-1481
Fax: 202-334-2318



8:45 Staff of House Subcommittee on Aviation
Speakers to be determined

9:30 Federal Aviation Administration
Safety Management System Process
Speaker to be Determined
Implementation and Integration Process
Vincent Capessuto & additional speaker tbd?
Program Risk Management
Speaker to be determined
Automation and Decision Support Tools
Speaker to be determined
Safety approval challenges of ADS-B
Doug Arbuckle

12:30 Sub-committee briefings

Enterprise Architecture (Room 202)
Speaker to be determined

Software Process (Room 205)
Natesh Manikoth, FAA

Human Factors and Operations (Room 900)
Speaker to be determined

Safety (Room 204)
Sherry Boerner, FAA

2:00 Adjourn for the day

Thursday, May 9


9:00 Stakeholder Panel
Dale Wright and Mel Davis, National Air Traffic Controllers Association
Mike Ruso, Professional Aviation Safety Specialists
Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association (invited)
Christopher Baum, Air Line Pilot Association
Daniel Elwell, Airlines for America (invited)

11:00 Break

11:15 UAS impact on NAS
Andrew Lacher, MITRE (invited)


Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
David Liddle (chair)
Steven Bellovin
George Donohue
R. John Hansman
Mats Heimdahl
John Knight
Leon Osterweil
Walker Royce
Gavriel Salvendy
Thomas Sheridan
Robert Sproull
James Sturges

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
-Composition and Balance Update
-Reactions to presentations
-Identifying topics for future briefings
-Discussion of emerging themes

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: May 14, 2013