Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Establishing and Promoting a Culture of Safety in Academic Laboratory Research

PIN: DELS-BCST-11-04         

Major Unit:
Division on Earth and Life Studies
Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education

Sub Unit:
Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology
Board on Human-System Integration

Friedman, Douglas

Subject/Focus Area:
Behavioral and Social Sciences; Biology and Life Sciences; Math, Chemistry and Physics

Establishing and Promoting a Culture of Safety in Academic Laboratory Research
August 28, 2013 - August 29, 2013
Hyatt Regency Cambridge
575 Memorial Drive
Cambridge, MA 02139

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Elizabeth Finkelman
Phone: 202-334-2472
Fax: 202-334-1961


Wednesday, August 28, 2013

9:00 am The MIT Safety Culture Experience
- Dr. Rick Danheiser, Professor of Chemistry, MIT

9:30 am University of Minnesota and the DOW Academic Safety Program
- Dr. William Tolman, Chair, Department of Chemistry, University of Minnesota

10:00 am Panel Discussion with Chemistry Faculty and EHS Professionals

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
- Dr. Rick Danheiser

University of Minnesota
- Dr. William Tolman

Harvard University
- Ms. Mary Corrigan, Associate Director, Environment, Health & Safety

Yale University
- Mr. Peter Reinhardt, Director, Environmental, Health, & Safety

11:00 am Panel Discussion with Students and Post-Doctoral Researchers

12:00 pm Break for Lunch

1:00 pm Safety Culture in Health Care
- Dr. Sara Singer, Assistant Professor, Harvard

1:30 pm Safety Culture in Labs
- Dr. Susan Silbey, Professor of Anthropology, MIT

2:00 pm Adjourn Open Session

Thursday, August 29, 2013
No Open Session

Agenda Subject to Change

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Holden Thorp; David DeJoy; John Bercaw; Robert Bergman; Joseph Deeb; Lawrence Gibbs; Theodore Goodson III; Andrew Imada; Kimberly Jeskie; Bradley Pentelute; Katlene Roberts; Jennifer Schomaker; Alice Young

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Committee member discussed the draft report outline.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: September 26, 2013