Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Human Spaceflight: Technical Panel

PIN: DEPS-ASEB-12-05         

Major Unit:
Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Sub Unit:
DEPS Aeronautics & Space Engineering Board
DEPS Space Studies Board
Committee on National Statistics

Graham, Sandra

Subject/Focus Area:
Policy for Science and Technology; Space and Aeronautics

Human Spaceflight: Technical Feasibility Panel Meeting 3
June 19, 2013 - June 21, 2013
Arnold and Mabel Beckman Center
100 Academy Dr.
Irvine, California

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Dionna Williams
Phone: 202/334-2447
Fax: 202/334-2482


Balboa Conference Room


9:30 a.m. Reducing the Cost of Exploration using Near-Term Advanced In-Space Propulsion
Roger Myers, Aerojet (via WebEx)

10:30 a.m. NASA Technology Development for Human Spaceflight
James Reuther, Deputy Associate Administrator of Programs, Space Technology
Mission Directorate

What are the key technological requirements for human space exploration
beyond LEO and what is STMD doing to address these requirements)? With respect
to in-space propulsion, areas of particular interest are:
nuclear thermal propulsion
? high-thrust solar electric propulsion
? cryopropellant storage and transfer

Noon Lunch

1:00 p.m. Technical Challenges for Piloted Missions to the Outer Planets
Ralph McNutt, Johns Hopkins University (via WebEx)

1:45 p.m. NASA’s Asteroid Redirect Mission: Technical Challenges
Michele Gates, NASA HQ HEOMD and Steve Stich, Johnson Space Center (via WebEx)

2:30 p.m. Break (Open Session Ends)

Final update: 06/17/2013

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
John Sommerer
Douglas Stetson
Vice Chair
Arnold Aldrich
Douglas Allen
via telecon
Raymond Arvidson
Richard Atkinson
David Crow
Ravi Deo
Dava Newman
Guillermo Trotti
Linda Williams
Bryan O'Connor
Committee on Human Spaceflight
Jonathan Lunine
Committee on Human Spaceflight

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Goals for the meeting.
Review of Work to Date and Updates.
Report Outline.
Report Assignments.
Goals for th next meeting.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:
No outside written materials were distributed to the committee.

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: June 25, 2013