Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Human Spaceflight

PIN: DEPS-ASEB-12-01         

Major Unit:
Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Sub Unit:
DEPS Aeronautics & Space Engineering Board
Committee on National Statistics
DEPS Space Studies Board

Graham, Sandra

Subject/Focus Area:
Engineering and Technology; Policy for Science and Technology; Space and Aeronautics

Committee on Human Spaceflight (Mtg. 1)
December 19, 2012 - December 19, 2012
National Academy of Sciences Building
2100 C St. NW
Washington D.C.

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Dionna Williams
Phone: 202-334-2447
Fax: 202-334-2482


10:15 am
Public Remarks on Study Goals
Co-Chairs: Jonathan Lunine and William Perry

10:30 am
Charlie Bolden, NASA Administrator

11:30 am
Lori Garver, NASA Deputy Administrator

12:00 pm
NASA Science and Exploration – John Grunsfeld, Associate Administrator, SMD, NASA (Working Lunch)

1:00 pm
Congressional Panel: History of request, goals for study, perspective on
Panelists: Ann Zulkosky, Jeff Bingham, Senate Commerce, Science, and
Transportation Committee (Staff); Ed Feddeman, House Committee on Science,
Space, and Technology (Staff) and Richard Obermann, House Committee on Science,
Space, and Technology Subcommittee on Science and Space (Staff)

2:00 pm
Human Exploration Program Activities, Structure, Goals, Commercial role
Greg Williams, Deputy Associate Administrator for Policy and Plans, HEOMD

3:00 pm

3:15 pm
Expert Panel: Human Spaceflight Impacts, Challenges and Opportunities
Panelists: Roger Launius, Air and Space Museum; Betty Sue Flowers, Independent
Consultant; Henry Hertzfeld, George Washington University; Lester Lyles, The
Lyles Group and Howard McCurdy, American University

5:00 pm
Public Comments
Guidelines for commentary, Lorin Hancock/NRC

5:30 pm
Open session of the meeting is adjourned

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Bernard F. Burke
Mary Lynne Dittmar
James S. Jackson
Jonathan Lunine (Co-Chair)
Franklin D. Martin
David C. Mowery
Bryan D. O’Connor
William Perry (Co-Chair)
Stanley Presser
Helen R. Quinn
Asif A. Siddiqi
John C. Sommerer
Roger Tourangeau
Ariel Waldman

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
The following topics were discussed during the closed sessions:
Goals of the meeting
Statement of Task
Homework Assignments
Plans for the January meeting

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:
No written materials were distributed during the closed sessions.

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: December 20, 2012