Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: NASA's Strategic Direction

PIN: DEPS-DEPS-11-06         

Major Unit:
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Sub Unit:

Moloney, Michael

Subject/Focus Area:
Space and Aeronautics

NASA's Strategic Direction
June 25, 2012 - June 27, 2012
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Dwayne Day
Phone: 202-334-3011


Committee on NASA’s Strategic Direction

June 25-27, 2012
Keck Center Room 100
500 Fifth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001


Monday, June 25, 2012 (Room 100)


10:45 am NASA IG Office Remarks Paul Martin
NASA Inspector General

11:00 am NASA and Science Waleed Abdalati
NASA Chief Scientist

12:00 pm Lunch

12:45 pm The Emerging Chinese Space Program Gregory Kulacki
Union of Concerned Scientists
Dean Cheng
Heritage Foundation

1:30 pm Perspectives of the Deputy Administrator Lori Garver
NASA Deputy Administrator

2:30 pm NASA and Technology Mason Peck
NASA Chief Technologist

3:30 pm Communicating a Strategic Vision Linda Billings
The George Washington University

4:15 pm NASA Perspectives Dave Radzanowski
NASA Chief of Staff

5:15 pm Committee Discussion

5:45 pm Committee Temporarily Adjourns

6:30 pm Committee Working Dinner
DC ChopHouse
509 7th Street, NW

8:00 pm Meeting adjourns

Tuesday, June 26, 2012 (Room 100)


8:00 am Room Opens (breakfast available in meeting room, committee and speakers only, please)

9:00 am NASA History Roger Launius
National Air and Space Museum

10:00 am Break

10:15 am Air Force Perspectives On Space Policy Richard W. McKinney
Deputy Under Secretary of the Air Force (Space Programs)

11:00 am Perspectives of a Former Administrator Richard Truly

12:00 pm Lunch (available in third floor cafeteria)

12:45 pm OSTP and OMB Perspectives John Olson (invited)
Office of Science and Technology Policy
Paul Shawcross (invited)
Office of Management and Budget
1:45 pm Break

2:00 pm Perspectives of a Former Administrator Jim Beggs

3:00 pm Perspectives of a Former Administrator Sean O’Keefe


Wednesday, June 27, 2012 (Room 100)


8:00 am Room Opens (breakfast available in meeting room, committee and speakers only, please)

8:30 am NASA Perspectives Robert Lightfoot
NASA Associate Administrator

9:30 am NASA Aeronautics Jaiwon Shin
NASA Associate Administrator for Aeronautics

10:30 am Perspectives of the NASA Administrator Charles Bolden
NASA Administrator


The following information is provided for any members of the general public who may be in attendance:

This meeting is being held to gather information to help the committee conduct its study. This committee will examine the information and material obtained during this, and other public meetings, in an effort to inform its work. Although opinions may be stated and lively discussion may ensue, no conclusions are being drawn at this time and no recommendations will be made. In fact, the committee will deliberate thoroughly before writing its draft report. Moreover, once the draft report is written, it must go through a rigorous review by experts who are anonymous to the committee, and the committee then must respond to this review with appropriate revisions that adequately satisfy the Academy’s Report Review committee and the chair of the NRC before it is considered an NRC report. Therefore, observers who draw conclusions about the committee’s work based on today’s discussions will be doing so prematurely.
Furthermore, individual committee members often engage in discussion and questioning for the specific purpose of probing an issue and sharpening an argument. The comments of any given committee member may not necessarily reflect the position he or she may actually hold on the subject under discussion, to say nothing of that person’s future position as it may evolve in the course of the project. Any inference about an individual’s position regarding findings or recommendations in the final report are therefore also premature.

Last updated: June 22, 2012.

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Albert Carnesale
Ann Karagozian
Michael Turner
Marcia Smith
Ron Sega
Warren Washington
Jacques Blamont
Mark Lewis
John Brock
Robert Crippen
Mark Abbott

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Planning for next meeting. Planning for site visits. Bias and conflict discussion.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: July 2, 2012