Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Assessment of Technologies for Improving Fuel Economy of Light-Duty Vehicles – Phase 2

PIN: DEPS-BEES-11-02         

Major Unit:
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences
Transportation Research Board

Sub Unit:
Board on Energy & Environmental Systems DEPS
Studies and Special Programs Division

Holmes, John

Subject/Focus Area:
Energy and Energy Conservation; Engineering and Technology; Policy for Science and Technology; Transportation and Infrastructure

Assessment of Technologies for Improving Fuel Economy of Light-Duty Vehicles – Phase 2
June 20, 2012 - June 21, 2012
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Jonathan Yanger
Phone: 202-334-1544
Fax: 202-334-2019


1:00 PM Welcome and Introduction
Jared Cohon, NRC Panel Chair

1:05 PM Lessons Learned from NHTSA Phase One Study
Trevor Jones, ElectroSonics Medical Inc.

1:45 PM CAFE Compliance and Effects Modeling System - Overview
Ryan Harrington, US DOT Volpe National Transportation Systems Center

2:25 PM Argonne National Laboratory Autonomie full vehicle simulation model
Aymeric Rousseau, Argonne National Laboratory

3:05 PM Break

3:20 PM EPA full vehicle simulation model
Ed Nam and Byungho Lee, Environmental Protection Agency

4:00 PM Estimates of technologies and costs for meeting new GHG standards used by the California Air Resources Board
Nicholas Lutsey, University of California, Davis

4:40 PM Estimates of technologies and costs for meeting new CAFÉ standards from the Center for Automotive Research
Sean McAlinden, Center for Automotive Research

5:20 PM Opportunity for public comment

5:30 PM Adjournment of public meeting

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Jared Cohon
William Walsh
Chris Baillie
Catherine Brinson
Dave Merrion
Virginia McConnell
Stephen Berry
Jay Baron
Rebecca Lindland
Anna Stefanopoulou
Wallace Wade
Therese Langer
Matt Fronk
David Greene

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Discussion of Open Session presentations. Discussion of future needs for data-gathering. Division of assignments. Plans for future meeting.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: June 21, 2012