Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: The Current Status and Future Direction of High Magnetic Field Science in the United States

PIN: DEPS-BPA-10-05         

Major Unit:
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Sub Unit:
Board on Physics & Astronomy DEPS

Lancaster, James

Subject/Focus Area:
Math, Chemistry and Physics

The Current Status and Future Direction of High Magnetic Field Science in the United States
March 12, 2012 - March 13, 2012
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Jim Lancaster
Phone: 202-334-1936
Fax: 202-334-3575


Monday, March 12, 2012

8:00 am

12:55 pm - Welcome and Introductions, Bert Halperin, Chair
1:00 pm - Perspectives from National Science Foundation,Ian Robertson and Tessema G.X. (NSF)
1:30 pm - Perspectives from Department of Energy, Andrew Schwartz (DOE)
2:00 pm - Perspectives from the COHMAG Study, Peter Moore (Yale University)
2:30 pm - Break
2:45 pm - Science Drivers and Magnet Facilities: present and future, Greg Boebinger and Lucio Frydman (National High Magnetic Field Laboratory)
4:15 pm - Magnet Technologies: superconducting, DC and pulsed, David Larbalestier and Charles Mielke (National High Magnetic Field Laboratory)
5:00 pm - Open Discussion
5:30 pm - Meeting closes

Tuesday, March 13, 2012


Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Bertrand Halperin-Chair-Harvard University
Yoichi Ando-Osaka University
Meigan Aronson-Stony Brook University
Dimitri Basov-University of California at San Diego
Thomas F. Budinger-University of California Berkeley
Robert Dimeo-National Institute of Standards and Technology
Frank Hunte-North Carolina State University
Chung Ning (Jeanie) Lau-University of California Riverside
Jan Cornelis Maan-Radboud University Nijmegen
Nai Phuan Ong-Princeton University
Arthur P. Ramirez-University of California Santa Cruz
Zlatko B. Tesanovic-Johns Hopkins University
Robert Tycko-National Institutes of Health

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
- Statement of Task
- Study Timeline
- Report Outline
- Initial Writing Tasks
- Future Meetings
- Committee Membership

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:
Meeting Presentations, report outline

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: March 15, 2012