Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Research and Technology Coordinating Committee (Federal Highway Administration)

PIN: SASP-P-07-92-A         

Major Unit:
Transportation Research Board

Sub Unit:
Studies and Special Programs Division

Menzies, Thomas

Subject/Focus Area:
Transportation and Infrastructure

Research and Technology Coordinating Committee (Federal Highway Administration)
December 15, 2011 - December 16, 2011
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Amelia Mathis
Phone: 202-334-3255
Fax: 202-334-3510


December 15, 2011 - Room 201

9:30 FHWA Updates
10:00 Overview of FHWA RD&T priority setting, program management, and performance measurement
10:30 Break
10:50 Continue discussion
11:30 Program Management: FHWA Office of Infrastructure priority setting and performance management
NOON Discussion (including opportunities for FHWA to partner with universities, states, NCHRP)
12:30 Lunch
1:30 Exploratory Advanced Research
2:15 Discussion
3:15 Break
3:35 Priority Setting – FHWA presentation
4:00 Models for setting priorities for highway research
4:30 Discussion: RTCC role and next steps
5:00 Wrap up of day’s discussion and adjourn

December 16, 2011 - Room 201

8:30 Performance Measurement
• Background on performance measures for applied research programs (TRB staff)
• FHWA’s ideas about appropriate measures. Discussion of pros and cons.
10:00 Break
10:20 Program Management: FHWA Strategies for Deployment of Research
11:20 Recap of discussion about next steps for RTCC
Noon Lunch

1:00-2:00 Closed session for committee deliberations

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Michael Meyer
Frances Banerjee
Kevin Chesnik (via teleconference)
Timothy Henkel
Wayne Kittelson
Daniel Murray
Ronaldo Nicholson
Lawrence Orcutt (via teleconference)
David Roessner
Robert Sack
James Winford

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
The committee deliberated on its report.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: December 22, 2011