Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Assessment of the U.S. Air Force's Astrodynamic Standards

PIN: DEPS-ASEB-10-05         

Major Unit:
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Sub Unit:
Air Force Studies Board DEPS
Board on Mathematical Sciences & Their Applications DEPS
Aeronautics & Space Engineering Board DEPS

Day, Dwayne

Subject/Focus Area:
Math, Chemistry and Physics; National Security and Defense; Policy for Science and Technology; Space and Aeronautics

Assessment of the U.S. Air Force's Astrodynamic Standards: Meeting 3
February 7, 2012 - February 9, 2012
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Andrea Rebholz
Phone: 202-334-2857
Fax: 202-334-2482


Note: The outline agenda for the Open Sessions posted below is tentative and subject to change. Please check this page for future updates. Last updated: January 25, 4:30pm.

Committee for the Assessment of the U.S. Air Force’s Astrodynamic Standards

Meeting 3
February 7-9, 2012
Keck Center Room 101
500 Fifth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001


Tuesday, February 7, 2012


7:30 am Room Opens (breakfast available in cafeteria)

8:30 am Meeting Convenes: Opening Remarks Chair, Paul Nielsen
Vice-chair, Terry Alfriend

9:00 am Thermospheric Modeling Challenges Tim Fuller-Rowell

10:00 am GMAT Steven P. Hughes
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

11:00 am Break (15 minutes)

11:15 am Covariance Realism Felix Hoots
The Aerospace Corporation

12:15 pm Working Lunch: Astrodynamics Standards

1:00 pm Panel Discussion
Ansley C. Browns, NASA Johnson Space Center
Lauri Newman, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Joe Pizzicaroli, Iridium (by videocon)
Joseph Chan, Intelsat

2:30 pm Break (15 minutes)

3:00 pm Study on astrodynamics and user requirements James Woodburn, AGI
Dan Oltrogge, AGI

4:00 pm Committee discussion (committee may go into closed session)

5:00 pm Break (1 hour)

6:00 pm Working Dinner at TBD

Wednesday, February 8, 2012


8:00 am Room Opens (breakfast available in meeting room)

8:30 am Meeting Convenes: Opening Remarks Chair, Paul Nielsen
Vice-chair, Terry Alfriend

5:00 pm Meeting Adjourns

Thursday, February 9, 2012


8:00 am Room Opens (breakfast available in meeting room)

8:30 am Meeting Convenes: Opening Remarks Chair, Paul Nielsen
Vice-chair, Terry Alfriend

12:00 pm Meeting Adjourns

The following information is provided for any members of the general public who may be in attendance:

This meeting is being held to gather information to help the committee conduct its study. This committee will examine the information and material obtained during this, and other public meetings, in an effort to inform its work. Although opinions may be stated and lively discussion may ensue, no conclusions are being drawn at this time and no recommendations will be made. In fact, the committee will deliberate thoroughly before writing its draft report. Moreover, once the draft report is written, it must go through a rigorous review by experts who are anonymous to the committee, and the committee then must respond to this review with appropriate revisions that adequately satisfy the Academy’s Report Review committee and the chair of the NRC before it is considered an NRC report. Therefore, observers who draw conclusions about the committee’s work based on today’s discussions will be doing so prematurely.
Furthermore, individual committee members often engage in discussion and questioning for the specific purpose of probing an issue and sharpening an argument. The comments of any given committee member may not necessarily reflect the position he or she may actually hold on the subject under discussion, to say nothing of that person’s future position as it may evolve in the course of the project. Any inference about an individual’s position regarding findings or recommendations in the final report are therefore also premature.

Last updated: January 25, 4:30 pm.

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Paul Nielsen
Terry Alfriend
Ryan Russell
Yanping Guo
James Miller
Bill Schonberg
Dan Scheeres
Don Saari
Sid Sridharayn
John Emmert
Aubrey Poore
Michael Bloomfield
Tim Maclay
Robert Morris

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
The report, schedule, plans and need for another meeting. Also conducted a bias and conflict discussion update.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: February 9, 2012