Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Assessment of NASA's Earth Science Program

PIN: DEPS-SSB-10-10         

Major Unit:
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Sub Unit:
Space Studies Board DEPS

Charo, Art

Subject/Focus Area:
Earth Sciences; Space and Aeronautics

Assessment of NASA's Earth Science Program
April 27, 2011 - April 29, 2011
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Linda Walker
Phone: (202) 334-3477


Tentative Draft Agenda
open and closed Session to be determined (04/11/2011)

April 28, 2011

10:00 pm
Mary Kicza, NOAA Assistant Administrator, NESDIS

11:00 pm
Bruce Quirk, Program Coordinator, Land Remote Sensing Program, USGS

11:30 pm
Roundtable discussions

12:00 pm
Working Lunch

01:00 pm
NASA Earth Science Division
Mike Freilich, Director, Earth Science Division, NASA

02:30 pm
Discussion NASA Chief Scientist
Waleed Abdalati

03:00 pm

03:15 pm
Discussions with representatives from OMB and OSTP(invited)

04:15 pm
Previous NRC Decadal Survey Midterm Assessments: Lessons Learned
Rod Heelis, UT Dallas, and Stephen Fuselier, Lockheed-Martin ATC
Co-Chairs, NRC Committee on Heliophysics Performance Assessment (2009)


Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Dennis Hartmann
Dennis Lettenmaier
William Townsend
Mark Abbott
Richard Anthes
Philip Ardanuy
Stacey Boland
Antonio Busalacchi Jr.
Anny Cazenave
Ruth DeFries
Lee-Lueng Fu
Bradford Hager
Hung-Lung Allen Huang
Anthony Janetos
Jennifer Logan
Molly Macauley
Joyce Penner
Michael Prather
David Schimel
Thomas Vonder Haar

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Study schedule, statement of task, past decadal survey midterm assessments, dates for future meetings, future speakers, potential outline of the report, action items.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:
None. No outside materials were distributed.

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: May 12, 2011