Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Research and Technology Coordinating Committee (Federal Highway Administration)

PIN: SASP-P-07-92-A         

Major Unit:
Transportation Research Board

Sub Unit:
Studies and Special Programs Division

Menzies, Thomas

Subject/Focus Area:
Transportation and Infrastructure

Research and Technology Coordinating Committee (Federal Highway Administration)
March 2, 2010 - March 3, 2010
Arnold and Mabel Beckman Center
100 Academy Dr.
Irvine, California

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Nikisha Turman
Phone: (202) 334-2373
Fax: (202) 334-3510


Research and Technology Coordination Committee
March 2-3, 2010,
Beckman Center, Irvine, CA

March 2, 2010
7:30 Breakfast
8:30 Review of Agenda

Nationally Coordinated Program of Highway Research
8:35 a.m. Introduction and background to discussion Chairman/staff
• RTCC recommendation in SR 295
• Motivation for recommendation – growing complexity and appearance of fragmentation of program with expansion of UTC program
• Overview of current scale of highway research – FHWA, SP&R, UTC
• Recap of discussion at November 2009 RTCC meeting about coordination: a process for collaboration vs. a specific research agenda
• Goals for and structure of day’s discussion

8:55 Current state DOT research coordination and priority setting activities
Panel of state research directors (Larry Orcutt, Sandra Larson, Dave Huft, Skip Paul, and Dale Peabody), each speaking for 5 minutes about their own state and states within their regions

9:45 Questions and discussion

10:15 Break

10:35 FHWA thoughts on national research coordination FHWA staff
• Goals and objectives
• Possible approaches

10:55 Questions and discussion

11:30 Comments from UTC and RITA perspective --
Panel including Joe Sussman, Kumares Sinha, Curt Tompkins, Rob Bertini, and Larry Sutter, each speaking for 5 minutes in response to state DOT and FHWA remarks and commenting on transportation vs. highway research and workforce development goals of UTC program, as well as constraints on coordination from university perspective.

12:00 Questions and discussion

12:30 Lunch

1:30 p.m. Recap of issues raised in morning session Chairman/staff
• Identification of opportunities, barriers, and issues

1:45 General Discussion:
• What are purposes and measures of success for a nationally coordinated program?
o Goals and objectives
o Outputs and outcomes
o Relationship to USDOT R&D strategic plan
• What would a program look like?
o Agreed upon agenda within topic areas?
o A set of processes to ensure collaboration/avoid duplication?
o What specific role for FHWA?

3:00 Break

3:20 Continue discussion
• What new processes are needed to achieve goals and objectives that incorporate federal, state, and UTC programs?
o Regular regional or national meetings, either face-to-face or virtual?
o Posting and updating of research road maps by all parties?
o More extensive use of TRIS, RIP, and RNS databases?
o Other?

4:00 Synthesis of discussion -- A proposed nationally coordinated program of highway research
• Goals and objectives
• Essential elements
• FHWA role
• Barriers to achieving goals/Outstanding issues to be resolved
• Next steps

5:00 Adjourn

6:00 Reception and dinner at Beckman Center

March 3, 2009
7:30 Breakfast
8:30 Review of agenda Chairman

Proprietary Products
8:35 Recap of Nov 2009 discussion Staff

8:45 Updates to commissioned paper Barbara Harder

9:15 Discussion All

10:00 Break

10:20 Plans for June 2010 Meeting

10:45 Closed session for RTCC to develop recommendations for letter report on proprietary products

12:00 Adjourn (Lunch available at study center)

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
E. Dean Carlson
Frances T. Banerjee
Arthur M. Dinitz
Kevin Keith
Wayne K. Kittelson
Michael R. Morris
Daniel Murray
Lawrence Orcutt
J. David Roessner
Robert L. Sack
Kumares C. Sinha
Larry E. Tibbits

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Committee members developed recommendations for letter report on proprietary products.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: March 16, 2010