Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Research and Technology Coordinating Committee (Federal Highway Administration)

PIN: SASP-P-07-92-A         

Major Unit:
Transportation Research Board

Sub Unit:
Studies and Special Programs Division

Menzies, Thomas

Subject/Focus Area:
Transportation and Infrastructure

RTCC Winter 2007 Meeting
November 5, 2007 - November 6, 2007
Arnold and Mabel Beckman Center
100 Academy Dr.
Irvine, California

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Laura Toth
Phone: 202-334-2545
Fax: 202-334-3510


Research and Technology Coordinating Committee
November 5-6, 2007
Beckman Center, Irvine, CA
Draft Agenda

November 5, 2007
7:30 Breakfast at Beckman Center
8:30 Closed session for committee business

9:00 Welcome, overview of agenda, introductions Chairman

9:15 FHWA Planning, Environment and Realty R&T Gloria Shepherd, FHWA
Discussion Committee

10:00 SHRP 2 Environmental R&T Neil Hawks, SHRP 2
Discussion Committee

10:30 Break

10:50 Stakeholder panel discussion Elizabeth Deakin, UC, Berkeley
Charles Howard, Puget Sound Regional Council; Jay Norvell and Joan Sollenberger, Caltrans

11:30 General Discussion Committee/Guests

12:30 Lunch

1:30 FHWA Report/Update Denny Judycki, FHWA

2:30 Highway R&T priority setting Committee/Guests

3:00 Alignment of R&T spending with priorities Committee/Guests
recommendations in SR 256

3:45 Break

4:05 Discussion about technology transfer Committee/Guests

4.30 Review of Operations R&T section of Strawman Committee/Guests

6:00 Reception
7:00 Working Dinner

November 6, 2007
7:30 Breakfast at Beckman Center

8:30 FHWA Safety R&T Jeff Lindley, FHWA
Discussion Committee

9:30 SHRP 2 Safety R&T Ann Brach, SHRP 2
Discussion Committee

10:30 Break

10:50 Stakeholder Panel Discussion Tom Welch, Iowa DOT;
Peter Sweatman, U. Michigan UMTRI
Lowell Porter, Governor Highway Safety Representative, Washington
Tim Neuman, CH2M-Hill

11:30 General discussion Committee/Guests

12:00 Lunch


1:00 Recap of discussions: Committee views of Chair/committee
Safety and Enviro/Planning Programs’ alignment with S-LU Principles

1:30 Discussion of themes/issues Staff/Committee
committee’s report text
Review of Strawman Draft (as required) Staff/Committee

2:30 Meetings/Report Schedule Staff/Committee

3:00 Adjourn

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Both closed sessions:
Frances Banerjee
E. Dean Carlson
John Conrad
Arthur M. Dinitz
Daniel Murray
Timothy R. Neuman
Lawrence Orcutt
Leslie Sterman
Joseph Sussman
Albert H. Teich
Paul T. Wells
Kevin Womack

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
First closed session:
The committee discussed potential sources of committee bias and conflict of interest.

Second closed session:
The committee began deliberating on findings for its report.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:
none at either session

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: November 28, 2007