Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Transit Research and Development: Federal Role in the National Program

PIN: SAIS-P-03-05-A         

Major Unit:
Transportation Research Board

Sub Unit:

Kortum, Katherine

Subject/Focus Area:
Transportation and Infrastructure

Meeting 8 - 06/21/2007
June 21, 2007 - June 22, 2007
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Laura Toth
Phone: 202-334-2545
Fax: 202-334-3510


Thursday, June 21, 2007

10:00 am
Update on development of FTA’s Multiyear Research Program Plan
Speaker from FTA

10:20 am
Update on FTA’s efforts to involve the University Transportation Centers in its research program
Speaker from FTA

10:50 am
FTA’s Baldrige National Quality Award efforts and research
Speaker from FTA

11:10 am
Group discussion

12 noon

1:00 pm
U.S. DOT’s Congestion Relief Initiative
Speaker from Research and Innovative Technology Administration

1:45 pm – 5:00 pm
Session on Transit-Oriented Development

1:45 pm
Setting the Scene – What are we trying to accomplish with transit-oriented development and are we succeeding?
Speaker to be confirmed

2:05 pm
Denver, Colorado: A case study in transit-oriented development
Cal Marsella, General Manager, Denver Regional Transportation District, committee member

2:15 pm
How does smart growth affect travel behavior?
Jay Evans, Senior Associate, Cambridge Systematics

2:35 pm

2:50 pm
Panel discussion on knowledge gaps and research opportunities
Ed Weiner, Mobility and Infrastructure Team Leader, U.S. DOT
Reid Ewing, Associate and Research Professor, National Center for Smart Growth, University of Maryland
Ming Zhang, Assistant Professor, University of Texas, Austin
Additional panelist to be confirmed

3:35 pm
Group discussion

4:50 pm
Session wrap-up
Michael Townes, committee chair; Barry Barker, committee vice chair

5:00 pm

5:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Reception for all meeting participants

Friday, June 22, 2007

10:30 am
Group discussion with FTA

12 noon

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Michael Townes
Barry Barker
Anna Barry
David Bayliss
Barbara Cline
Ron Epstein
Les Hoel
Paul Jamieson
Brian Macleod
Cal Marsella
Jeffrey Rosenberg
Nigel Wilson

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
• TRAC activities and membership changes since 2006 winter meeting
• Development of FTA’s Multiyear Research Program Plan
• Knowledge gaps and research opportunities in transit-oriented development identified during open sessions of meeting
• Strategies for linking FTA’s research to high-level national goals

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: June 25, 2007