Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
  Committee Membership
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Committee Membership Information

Project Title: Opportunities and Approaches for Supplying Molybdenum-99 and Associated Medical Isotopes to Global Markets: A Symposium

PIN: DELS-NRSB-16-03        

Major Unit:
Division on Earth and Life Studies

Sub Unit: Nuclear and Radiation Studies Board


Kosti, Ourania

Subject/Focus Area:  Engineering and Technology; Health and Medicine; International Issues; National Security and Defense; Policy for Science and Technology

Committee Membership
Date Posted:   03/01/2017

Dr. Hedvig Hricak - (Chair) - (Chair)

Hedvig Hricak, MD, (NAM) is Chairman of the Department of Radiology at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. In addition to holding a senior position within the Program of Molecular and Pharmacology Therapeutics at the Sloan-Kettering Institute, she is a professor at Gerstner Sloan-Kettering Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and a professor of radiology at the Weill Medical College of Cornell University. She has helped develop applications in ultrasound, magnetic resonance (MR), and computed tomography for gynecological cancers as well as MR and MR spectroscopy for prostate cancer. She continues to investigate diagnostic methods for cancer detection, staging, and management and is involved in developing clinical approaches for molecular imaging of cancer. She is a member of the National Academy of Medicine and a foreign member of both the Russian Academy of Science and the Croatian Academy of Arts and Sciences. In recognition of her career accomplishments, she has received the Marie Curie Award of the American Association of Women Radiologists (2003), the gold medals of the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine (2003) and the Association of University Radiologists, the Béclère medal of the International Society of Radiology (2007), the Morocco Medal of Merit (2008), and the Katarina Zrinska Croatian presidential award (2009). In 2005 she was awarded an honorary doctorate in medicine (Dr.h.c.) from Ludwig Maximilian University in Munich, Germany. She has previously served on numerous committees and on the Nuclear and Radiation Studies Board of the National Academies. She earned her MD degree from the University of Zagreb and her Dr. Med. Sc. from the Karolinska Institute.

Mr. Jack L. Coffey
Jack L. Coffey, CHP, serves as a consultant with Lachman Consulting Services to radiopharmaceutical developers and manufacturers with primary emphasis on supplier and manufacturing site qualification, Food and Drug Administration compliance, and manufacturing process improvements. He is also a member of the Board of Directors of Enigma Biomedical Group. He has ten years of research experience in medical isotope and radiopharmaceutical production followed by over 20 years of commercial company experience in medical isotope production and radiopharmaceutical supply. His experience at Cardinal Health Nuclear Pharmacy Services (2003-2012) and Syncor International Corporation (1984-2003) has included regulatory compliance auditing, quality and regulatory affairs management, as well as serving as an officer of a publicly held corporation. As a scientist at Oak Ridge Associated Universities (1974-1984), Mr. Coffey conducted radiopharmaceutical research focused specifically on determining radiation doses to patients and members of the public. Mr. Coffey chaired the Council on Radionuclides and Radiopharmaceuticals (CORAR) from 2011-2012 and is a member of the Health Physics Society, and American Academy of Health Physics. He received a BS in chemistry and biology from the University of the Cumberlands and an MS in radiation biology at the University of Tennessee.

Dr. Eugene J. Peterson
Eugene J. Peterson, Ph.D., is executive advisor to Los Alamos National Laboratory’s associate director for chemistry, life, and earth sciences and is leading the laboratory’s strategic planning efforts for the Science of Signatures Science Pillar. Previously, he was the chemistry division leader at Los Alamos, where he was responsible for 350 chemical professionals and a budget of approximately $150 million. Before his tenure as chemistry division leader, Dr. Peterson specialized in medical isotope production and applications research and development. He was responsible for technical management of the laboratory’s isotope production efforts and associated research and development, business management of isotope distribution and marketing, and procuring adequate funding for these programs. Notable program successes during his tenure included the construction of a new $23.5 million 100 MeV Isotope Production Facility at the Los Alamos Neutron Science Center for the production of accelerator isotopes and the lease by the Department of Energy of the laboratory’s cryogenic distillation columns for the separation and purification of isotopes of carbon, nitrogen, and oxygen to the private sector. Dr. Peterson served on the National Academies Committee on Medical Isotope Production without Highly Enriched Uranium (2007-2009) and the Committee on the State of Molybdenum-99 Production and utilization and Progress toward Eliminating Use of Highly Enriched Uranium (2014-2016). He received his B.S. degree from the Illinois Benedictine College and his Ph.D. degree in inorganic chemistry from Arizona State University.